FREE CONSULTATIONS & WE'RE AVAILABLE 24/7

Los Angeles Second Time DUI

  • May 26, 2017

    If you live in the Los Angeles, California area and have been charged with a DUI, you probably already know that the offense is very serious. There are many very serious consequences you face when you are arrested for driving under the influence, whether you were drinking or did drugs. However, this is the type of criminal charge that can be even more grave when you already have a prior arrest and conviction for a DUI. You must take a second DUI charge very seriously and work to prevent any further issues of driving while you’re under the influence of drugs or alcohol. You will also need a highly skilled criminal defense attorney to represent you in court because it’s your best bet for the charges being diminished.

    What Can Result in a DUI Conviction?

    In the state of California, you can be charged with and convicted of a DUI if you drive while your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 or higher. This is also referred to as a “per se” DUI. You can also receive the charge if you are under the influence of drugs or a combination of both alcohol and drugs.

    How Do You Get a Second DUI Charge?

    If you already have one prior DUI conviction, you can be charged with a second offense DUI if your prior one took place within the past 10 years. This is a very serious charge that comes with equally serious penalties.

    What are the Penalties for a Second DUI Charge?

    DUI charges are different than many other criminal charges because you don’t necessarily have to be convicted to face penalties. If you are arrested while under the influence, you can expect certain administrative penalties to be placed against you. These include the suspension of your driver’s license and certain fees. In general, with a second DUI offense in Los Angeles, you can expect the California Department of Motor Vehicles to suspend your license for one year. However, that amount of time is doubled to two years if you refuse to take a chemical test.

    There are also criminal penalties for a second time DUI offense. Generally, the crime is charged as a misdemeanor, which means you can face anywhere from 96 hours to a full year of jail time if you’re convicted. In some instances, you may not have to actually serve time in jail but may be put under house arrest or have to perform work service. You can also expect a fine of anywhere from $390 to $1,000.

    California residents who receive a second DUI conviction are also subject to probation that lasts from three to five years. You will also be ordered to enter DUI school for 18 months and your driver’s license will be suspended for a term of two years.

    A second DUI conviction is certainly not a matter to be taken lightly. It is a very serious offense that can drastically shake up your life. It can affect your home life, personal relationships and job. If you are arrested for driving under the influence for the second time in 10 years, you need an experienced attorney on your side to help you every step of the way. Get in touch with Los Angeles DUI lawyers at Kraut Law Group immediately to discuss your case. Michael Kraut and his team of skilled lawyers will fight to protect your rights and use strong defenses against your DUI charge.

Request free Consultation

Videos

Recent Case Results

Testimonials

Our Locations

  • WD

    Westwood

    10880 Wilshire Blvd Ste 122 Los Angeles, CA 90024

  • SB

    Santa Barbara

    3 W Carillo Ste 202 Santa Barbara CA 93101

  • PA

    Pasadena

    155 N Lake Ave Ste 800 Pasadena, CA 91101

  • SD

    San Diego

    501 W Broadway Ste 800 San Diego, CA 92101

  • LA

    Los Angeles

    800 W 6th St Suite #450 Los Angeles CA 90017

  • MU

    Murrieta

    39933 Cresta land Cir Murrieta, CA 92562

  • OC

    Orange County

    7545 Irvine Center Dr. Ste 200 Irvine, CA 92618

  • EN

    Encino

    16133 Ventura Blvd Penthouse Suite Encino, CA 91436

Click To Call