recent case results
Homicide 6 years in jail
Gun Possession 10 years in jail
Kidnapping 12 years in jail
Homicide 6 years in jail
Drug Possession 9 years in jail
DUI (.15) 3 years in jail
Felony DUI (.13) 5 years in jail
DUI (.09) 6 years in jail
La Mirada Dui Lawyers
In La Mirada, California, if you’re charged with a DUI you may have to serve as little as four days or up to 16 months in prison depending on how many times you face DUI conviction. In addition, you may temporarily lose your driver’s license, and have to pay heavy fines and penalties. Because of the degree of punishment imposed on those convicted of DUI in California, you need a top-notch law firm on your side to ensure you receive a fair trial and the best possible outcome so you can go on with your life.
What is ‘Over the Legal Limit’ for DUI in California?
If over 21, to be considered legally intoxicated, you must have a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08. If under 21, you will be considered legally intoxicated if your BAC is 0.1 or higher. If under 18, you will be considered legally intoxicated regardless of your BAC results.
Overview of DUI Offenses
The first time you’re convicted of a DUI, you may have to spend four day to six months in jail, pay fines and penalties of up to $1,000, and receive 30-day to 10-month suspension of your driver’s license. If convicted a second time, you may have to spend 10 days to one year in jail, pay fines and penalties of up to $1,800, and receive a 2-year suspension of your driver’s license (with a expert attorney, you may be able to knock that down to 1-year).
If convicted a third time, you may have to spend 120 days to one year in jail, pay fines and penalties of up to $1,800, and receive a 3-year suspension of your driver’s license. If convicted a fourth time (within 10 months of your 3rd offense), you may have to spend 16 months in jail, pay fines and penalties of up to $18,000, and receive a 4-year suspension of your driver’s license.
Hire a Great Lawyer Now
It’s for all the reasons listed above that you need a lawyer who completely understands DUI laws in La Mirada. For example, did you know California has a look-back period of 10 years? This means that even if your first offense was eight years ago, it still counts, which means your most recent offense is actually considered your second offense.
Unless you understand your legal rights, you may receive the maximum sentence for DUI. An attorney with intimate knowledge of the California legal system can help reduce jail time or work out probation instead, get a reduction of fines and penalties and the number of days/months/years of driver’s license suspension. DUI laws in La Mirada, California are constantly changing – this is why it’s so important to choose a lawyer who understands these changes and is always up-to-date on the latest amendments to current laws.